The Canadian Food Experience Project

The Canadian Food Experience Project: Eat more greens, but don’t forget to eat chocolate (Challenge #8)

Kale Salad: Picture by Lesli Christianson-Kellow

Kale Salad: Picture by Lesli Christianson-Kellow

More kale salad, more kefir, more salmon and wild blueberries are in store for me in 2014, but you can be sure that I am not giving up salted caramel macarons, s’mores or brownies…I will just eat more kale to cancel out my sugary vices.

Sometimes I eat kale braised in olive oil and sprinkled with chopped bacon and garlic. Sometimes I eat it as a salad, finely sliced with orange peppers, tomatoes, onions, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and soft goat cheese. The goat cheese combines with the olive oil and balsamic vinegar to create a creamy dressing that far outweighs the store bought dressings in taste and quality.

Kale Salad ingredients

I’ve been able to buy local organic kale at the Calgary Farmer’s Market the past few months. It is so fresh that it typically stays crisp and green for 7-10 days. Unlike other vegetables that get soggy relatively quickly like cucumbers and lettuce, kale is a food I can count on being there when I need it…and, well, so are macarons…

Macarons

The Canadian Food Experience Project began June 7 2013. As we (participants) share our collective stories across the vastness of our Canadian landscape through our regional food experiences, we hope to bring global clarity to our Canadian culinary identity through the cadence of our concerted Canadian voice. Please join us.

2 thoughts on “The Canadian Food Experience Project: Eat more greens, but don’t forget to eat chocolate (Challenge #8)

  1. Pingback: The Canadian Food Experience Project: Round Up Eight

  2. Takes courage to stand up for kale. A great veggie, indeed, and great to profile for the project here. I threw myself into finding ways to use it a lot last year myself … and continue. Very very versatile veggie which you can slip into a lot of things, get the nutrients, and still never taste it. Having said that, I’m actually starting to like the taste …. (phew).

Leave a Reply

